OpenAI and Tata announced an India infrastructure partnership beginning with 100 MW of capacity and an option to scale to 1 GW. For equipment suppliers, the distinction between the initial phase and possible expansion is the most useful part of the announcement.
It is not evidence that a 1 GW campus is already operating, that the full expansion is scheduled, or that a particular generator or transformer package has been ordered. The public announcements describe a commercial development relationship; equipment procurement still requires a project-specific design and an identified contracting route.
This guide separates the announced scope from the information a supplier needs before reserving stock, preparing an engineered proposal or committing a manufacturing position.
Key Takeaways
- The February 2026 announcements identify 100 MW initially, with potential or an option to expand to 1 GW.
- OpenAI is described as the first customer of TCS' HyperVault data center business; the announcements do not describe an OpenAI-owned completed campus.
- HyperVault platform financing and technology partnerships should not be treated as a bill of materials for the OpenAI phase.
- The reviewed launch announcements do not establish the site's electrical specifications or a commissioning schedule.
- Suppliers should qualify the actual buyer and project package before treating the announcement as an equipment order.
What OpenAI and Tata announced#
In its February 18, 2026 announcement, OpenAI said it would become the first customer of TCS' HyperVault business, beginning with 100 MW and potentially scaling to 1 GW. It presented the infrastructure as part of its Stargate initiative and connected it to domestic capability, security and data residency.
Tata's February 19 announcement describes a multi-year partnership in which TCS will develop an initial 100 MW of AI infrastructure, with an option to scale to 1 GW.
Those statements support a clear description of the partnership. They do not disclose the underlying contract, the exact boundary of the MW rating or the payment and acceptance conditions. “Announced initial capacity” is therefore more precise than treating the number as an independently verified, fully specified equipment commitment.
| Item | What the reviewed launch announcements establish |
|---|---|
| Infrastructure relationship | OpenAI and TCS HyperVault partnership |
| Initial scale | 100 MW |
| Possible expansion | Up to 1 GW under the described option or potential expansion |
| Development role | TCS describes developing the infrastructure |
| Equipment schedule | Not specified in those announcements |
| Exact site and utility interface | Not identified in those announcements |
| Commissioning milestones | Not specified in those announcements |
The limits above refer to the cited announcements. They should not be read as a claim that no other disclosure, permit filing or private project document exists.
HyperVault financing is a platform commitment#
Tata's November 20, 2025 financing announcement describes a combined commitment of up to ₹18,000 crore from TCS and TPG over the following years to support HyperVault. It predates the OpenAI launch announcement.
That sequence matters when interpreting capital expenditure. A platform investment can support more than one project or customer. It should not be relabeled as a new OpenAI-funded equipment budget for the initial phase.
Suppliers should distinguish four separate questions: who develops the facility, who occupies its capacity, who finances the platform and who signs the equipment purchase order. The answers may involve different entities and contracts.
The public relationship makes TCS and HyperVault relevant organizations to investigate for supplier qualification. It does not establish that every equipment purchase must be made directly by HyperVault, or that an EPC, integrator or another authorized party cannot procure a particular package.
Technology partnerships do not identify the phase-one equipment#
Two subsequent TCS disclosures provide context for the wider platform:
- TCS' FY2026 fourth-quarter release describes a HyperVault–AMD rack-scale design collaboration based on Helios and a blueprint supporting up to 200 MW.
- TCS' April 27, 2026 release describes memorandums of understanding, including Siemens Energy India support for HyperVault in power generation, electrification, grid technology and digital systems.
Neither statement, by itself, identifies the equipment selected for the OpenAI initial phase. A platform blueprint is not proof of the customer's final rack configuration. A collaboration announcement is not a public award notice for every electrical package.
Before proposing equipment, ask which designs and approved-vendor arrangements apply to the specific procurement. Confirm whether substitutions are permitted and who has technical approval authority.
Do not turn 100 MW into an invented generator count#
The launch announcements do not define 100 MW as the exact standby load, generator nameplate total or utility-import limit. Those quantities cannot be substituted for one another.
A generator-count exercise needs the backed-up load, generator rating at site conditions, redundancy arrangement, operating duty and controls. The result also depends on whether cooling and other auxiliaries are included and how load is distributed between blocks.
An illustrative division of load by unit capacity can help explain arithmetic, but it cannot become a published project specification. The same applies to assuming a particular transmission voltage, UPS module size or switchgear class from the campus headline.
For suppliers, a better first request is the approved single-line diagram and phased equipment schedule. Use SecondWatt's generator, transformer, switchgear and UPS research to frame questions, then match offers to the actual design.
Data residency and compliance need their own review#
The infrastructure announcements describe an intended role in meeting residency and security needs. That does not establish that every product, endpoint or customer workload already processes data in India.
For regulated workloads, separate where data is stored, where it is processed, what access arrangements apply and which contractual controls are available. Obtain the current product-specific terms rather than inferring service availability from a future infrastructure plan.
India's official November 2025 DPDP Rules explainer describes the data-protection framework. Applicable commencement dates, sector-specific requirements and the actual processing arrangement need to be assessed for the workload. A reference to data protection should not be converted into a blanket claim that every AI workload must run in a particular facility.
Likewise, do not assume a tax incentive applies to OpenAI or HyperVault merely because an article describes a broader policy. Project underwriting requires the enacted provisions, applicable conditions and advice tied to the contracting structure. This article does not assign a project-specific tax benefit.
What equipment suppliers can do now#
Prequalification can proceed without inventing a project design. Prepare documentation that demonstrates the ability to supply and support a defined equipment category.
| Supplier action | Information to prepare or request |
|---|---|
| Establish the buyer | Contracting entity, procurement contact and authority for the package |
| Qualify technically | Equipment certifications, applicable standards, documentation and support arrangements |
| Confirm the scope | Model or performance specification, quantity, accessories and exclusions |
| Establish the site interface | Voltage, frequency, fault levels, environmental conditions and connection requirements |
| Confirm timing | Design approval, inspection, delivery and commissioning milestones |
| Establish commercial terms | Currency, taxes, freight, payment, warranty and acceptance conditions |
For secondary-market equipment, add ownership evidence, serial-number records, service history and preservation documentation. An attractive delivery claim is useful only when the equipment is compatible and the seller can demonstrate authority to supply it.
Suppliers holding equipment should avoid presenting tentative interest as a secured project allocation. If a buyer requests a hold, document its duration, conditions and any payment obligation.
Separate early engagement from a stock reservation#
Early engagement is a relatively flexible activity: establish the procurement route, understand likely qualification requirements and identify documentation gaps. Reserving stock or a manufacturing slot is a different commercial decision.
Before reserving equipment, obtain enough information to determine whether the unit can meet the package specification and whether the buyer's commitment supports the reservation. Clarify what happens if the location changes, the design evolves or the procurement schedule moves.
The option to expand from 100 MW to 1 GW can justify monitoring later phases. It does not justify pricing ten times the initial equipment requirement without an approved scope. Keep the announced expansion, the funded phase and the active purchase package as separate records in the sales pipeline.
Disclosures that would make the opportunity more specific#
The next useful evidence is a project-level document rather than another broad capacity headline. A named site helps establish logistics and environmental conditions. The electrical design defines equipment compatibility. A procurement notice identifies the authorized buying route. A documented schedule turns an expression of interest into a planning input.
For buyers evaluating generation, also establish whether the duty is standby, prime or another operating profile. A gas turbine or generator selected for one duty should not be assumed suitable for another without technical and permitting review.
Frequently Asked Questions#
Is OpenAI building a 1 GW data center in India?#
The cited announcements describe an initial 100 MW partnership with TCS HyperVault and potential or an option to scale to 1 GW. They do not establish that the entire 1 GW is under construction or operational.
Where is the initial facility?#
The February launch announcements reviewed here do not identify a site. Confirm location through project-specific documentation before using it in an equipment proposal.
Who should equipment suppliers approach?#
TCS and HyperVault are relevant starting points for qualification because of their announced development role. Confirm the actual purchasing entity and any EPC or integrator responsible for the package.
Does the AMD collaboration identify OpenAI's hardware?#
Not by itself. A platform-level design collaboration does not establish the customer's final hardware configuration or electrical equipment selection.
Can the 100 MW figure determine a backup-generator order?#
No. The supported load, site rating, redundancy, auxiliaries and operating duty must be established first.
For a defined project package, submit an equipment request with the specification, delivery location and required dates. Suppliers should provide unit identity, condition and scope so the offer can be evaluated against the buyer's actual requirements.