Rittal TS IT / TS IT Pro
Manufacturer: Rittal

Rittal's current 19-inch data center rack, with a 750 lb static-rating gap in its own literature
This model is part of SecondWatt’s rack research catalogue. Specifications and price observations are included where supported by sources. Equipment availability and commercial terms require confirmation.
Cabinet density is what forces the cooling decision. Beyond about 40 kW a rack is no longer air-served, and the enclosure has to accommodate liquid cooling, either as rear-door and direct-to-chip manifolds or as a full immersion tank in place of the cabinet. The catalogue entries closest to that decision are ZutaCore HyperCool Two-Phase Direct-to-Chip and CoolIT Systems DCLC Direct Liquid Cooling.
Rittal TS IT and TS IT Pro server rack pricing, specs and pre-purchase inspection guide for data center buyers evaluating used 19-inch cabinets.
TS IT is Rittal's 19-inch EIA-310-E server and network enclosure family, sold today in two simultaneously current sub-lines: the original TS IT (catalog numbers 5503.xxx-5527.xxx) and the 2020-launched TS IT Pro (catalog numbers 9982xxx). Rittal's own launch language positions the line for "centralized data centers, distributed edge deployments or high-scale Colocation, Cloud, and Hyperscale data centers," not network closets or industrial panel building. Both sub-lines remain orderable through CDW, Anixter, Radwell, Amazon, Netceed and Server Racks Online as of August 2026.
The line's defining risk is a documented weight-rating disagreement inside Rittal's own literature. A February 2021 TS IT Pro spec sheet states 3,750 lb static capacity for the 42U/48U family, while a separate Rittal sheet for the 24U variant of the same 600 by 1070 mm footprint states 3,000 lb static - a 750 lb gap between two manufacturer documents for closely related SKUs, not an OEM-versus-distributor mismatch. Base TS IT shows a comparable spread across its own documentation, from 10,000 N per mounting level to 15,000 N depending on the SKU cited.
Rittal's true next-generation IT rack is VX IT, built on the newer VX25 platform and named as the replacement for discontinued TS IT part numbers in EU and UK distribution, with limited US presence. Rittal's OCP Open Rack v3 offering is a separate, dedicated 21-inch, 44-OpenU frame sharing none of the dimensions covered here. A used unit's nameplate will read "TS IT" or "TS IT PRO," never VX IT, VX25, TS 8, or ORV3.
Why it matters
Rittal's own literature disagrees with itself: a February 2021 TS IT Pro spec sheet states 3,750 lb static for the 42U/48U line, while Rittal's own sheet for the 24U variant of the identical 600 by 1070 mm footprint states 3,000 lb - a 750 lb, 20 percent gap between two manufacturer documents, not merely OEM versus distributor. Confirm the rating documented for the exact part number in hand rather than quoting the family headline figure.
Who buys it
Colocation, hyperscale, and enterprise data center operators sourcing 19-inch server cabinets for new or expanding white space, plus ITAD dealers and brokers pricing decommissioned Rittal enclosures pulled from retired rows. A buyer matching into an existing TS IT or TS IT Pro row needs the exact part number's rated capacity, not the family average, before adding compute or network load.
Role in the data center
White-space IT cabinet housing rack-mount servers, network switches and PDUs behind perforated front and split-rear doors in colocation, hyperscale, edge and enterprise data center rooms. It carries the full rack load on its own frame rather than on raised-floor structure, so the static and dynamic weight ratings, not U height, are what gate a high-density GPU deployment.
Key specifications
| U height (base TS IT) | 24, 42, 47 U |
|---|---|
| U height (TS IT Pro) | 24, 42, 48 U |
| External width (base TS IT) | 600 / 700 / 800 mm |
| External width (TS IT Pro) | 600 / 750 mm |
| External depth (base TS IT) | 1000 / 1050 / 1200 mm |
| External depth (TS IT Pro) | 1070 / 1200 mm |
| Static weight rating, base TS IT 800 x 1200 mm (part 5511110 product page) | 15,000 N (about 3,372 lb) N |
| Static load per 19in mounting level, base TS IT 700 x 1050 mm (part 9982108 product page) | 10,000 N |
| Static weight rating, TS IT Pro (42U/48U spec sheet US546) | 3,750 lb |
| Static weight rating, TS IT Pro 24U (spec sheet US1031, same 600 x 1070 mm footprint) | 3,000 lb |
| Dynamic/rolling weight rating, TS IT Pro | 2,250 lb (1,020 kg) |
| Rail type / adjustability | Two 19in/482.6mm EIA-310-E rails, front and rear, depth-adjustable, square M6 cage-nut holes, tool-less mounting none |
| Door perforation | ~85 % open area, front and rear |
| Side panel config / accessory price | Two-piece, quick-release, lockable cam lock; split sidewall accessory (5501035) $677.47 |
| Caster kit rating / price | 2,250 lb dynamic (1,020 kg) per cabinet, 28in-wide kit (9967481) $405.27 (MSRP $421.48) |
| Lock type | Front: semi-cylinder, security lock 3524; Rear: security lock 3524 E; TS IT Pro adds a 4-point locking rod none |
| Standards listed, base TS IT vs. TS IT Pro | Base: EIA 310 E, EN 60950, UL 60950-1, CSA C22.2 No. 60950-1-07, RoHS, UL 94, ANSI-J-STD-607-A (no UL 2416 listed). Pro: EIA 310E, UL 60950-1, UL 2416, cUL none |
| IP rating by door type | IP 55 on glazed-door variants; perforated-door (data center standard) variants carry no published IP rating none |
Technical summary
U height: 24U/42U/47U (base TS IT); 24U/42U/48U (TS IT Pro). External width: 600-800mm (base TS IT); 600-750mm (TS IT Pro). External depth: 1000-1200mm (base TS IT); 1070-1200mm (TS IT Pro). Static rating, two Rittal sheets: 3,750 lb on the TS IT Pro 42U/48U sheet and 3,000 lb on the TS IT Pro 24U sheet for the same footprint. Dynamic/rolling rating: 2,250 lb, TS IT Pro (base TS IT not stated). Door perforation: 85% front and rear, both sub-lines. Rails: two 19in EIA-310-E, depth-adjustable, M6 cage-nut holes. Standards: EIA-310E both lines; UL 2416 on TS IT Pro only; Rittal states no seismic certification. IP rating: IP 55 on glazed-door variant only; not stated for the perforated-door data center config. Locks: semi-cylinder front, security insert rear; 4-point rod on TS IT Pro. Warranty: 5 years on TS IT Pro; Rittal publishes no warranty term for base TS IT. Caster kit: 2,250 lb dynamic rated per cabinet, $405.27.
Major variations
Two sub-lines of TS IT are simultaneously current: the original TS IT (5503.xxx-5527.xxx) and TS IT Pro (9982xxx, launched November 2020). Both are actively distributed today through CDW, Anixter, Radwell, Amazon, Netceed, and Server Racks Online, though individual part numbers churn - one TS IT Pro SKU (9982216, 48U with side panels) carries a CDW status of discontinued June 9, 2026 while sibling SKUs remain active. VX IT, built on Rittal's newer VX25 architecture, is the true next-generation IT rack and is explicitly named by EU and UK distributors as the replacement for discontinued TS IT part numbers (5509110, 5511110, and others).
Configurations and options
Door type is perforated (approximately 85% open, the standard data center configuration) or glazed (rated IP 55). External width runs 600, 700, 750, or 800mm and depth 1000, 1050, 1070, or 1200mm depending on sub-line and SKU. Side panels ship as an optional two-piece, quick-release, cam-locked accessory rather than as standard equipment on every SKU, and several distributor listings show units sold explicitly without them.
Compatibility and dependencies
Mounting rails use M6 cage nuts on 19in EIA-310-E centers, with tool-less installation on TS IT Pro. Baying and connector-bar hardware is cross-listed as compatible with Rittal's TS 8 and VX IT lines, though the cabinets themselves are not interchangeable. The OEM caster kit (9967481) sets the cabinet's 2,250 lb dynamic rating directly, so a swapped or missing caster kit changes that figure.
Pricing and availability
Published price range: $899-$2,995 per cabinet across used and new-OEM listings. Trend: stable Lead time, new: Rittal's own TS IT Pro infographic states standard sizes are stocked in multiple locations and ship quickly; Rittal publishes no lead time in days or weeks.. Lead time, used or refurbished: Used listings on eBay, SPW Industrial and Compan-IT read as spot inventory rather than backordered; the Compan-IT unit was listed out of stock as of August 2026.. Warranty, new: 5 years, TS IT Pro only, per Rittal's own 24U spec sheet (US1031). Rittal publishes no warranty term for base TS IT..
Lifecycle and maintenance
TS IT Pro carries a 5-year warranty per Rittal's own 24U spec sheet; Rittal publishes no warranty term for base TS IT. As a welded steel structure with no active cooling or power components, there is no OEM-defined overhaul interval - the wearing parts are casters, door hinges, cam locks, and cage nuts. A decommissioned unit's real cost lands in the accessory tail: a side panel pair runs $677.47, a 2,250 lb dynamic-rated caster kit runs $405.27, and M6 cage nuts run $45.70 per 50-pack. Rittal publishes no cabinet-specific service-life figure.
Thermal and emissions profile
TS IT and TS IT Pro are passive structural steel enclosures with no refrigerant charge, combustion process, or onboard power electronics, so no GWP figure or refrigerant classification applies to this product class. No EPA or environmental regulation applies to an unpowered rack cabinet. Rittal states that TS IT Pro is built in the USA, which speaks to supply chain, not emissions.
Common failure points
- Caster wheels — Wheel tread worn flat or a wheel missing, cabinet rolls unevenly or won't stay level
- Door hinges — Door sags, no longer closes flush, or the 180-degree hinge binds partway
- Cage nut threads — M6 cage nut spins freely instead of seating, or the square cutout is deformed
- Side panel cam locks — Panel rattles or won't latch because the cam lock is seized or missing its key
- Static/dynamic rating mismatch — Buyer assumes the 3,750 lb TS IT Pro headline figure applies to a 24U unit that Rittal's own separate spec sheet rates at 3,000 lb
- Frame or base/plinth corrosion — Rust or pitting on a load-bearing rail or base member, sometimes hidden under an intact side panel
- Missing baying/connector hardware — A cabinet pulled from a multi-cabinet row arrives without its connector bars or baying brackets
Inspection checklist
Confirm the nameplate reads "TS IT" or "TS IT PRO" and record the full part number: 5503-5527.xxx or 9982xxx: since the two sub-lines carry different documented weight ratings. Verify the static weight rating documented for this exact U-height, width and depth combination: do not assume the 3,750 lb TS IT Pro figure applies to a 24U unit, which Rittal's own sheet rates at 3,000 lb. Check mounting-rail cage-nut positions across the full rail length: a 42U rail carries dozens of M6 positions, and any stripped or elongated hole adds to the parts count. Torque-test a sample of 10 cage nuts per rail: confirm each still seats in the standard M6 range rather than spinning loose in a worn hole. Count and photograph all 4 doors: 1 front, 2-piece split rear: since used TS IT listings frequently ship with doors or side panels absent.
Procurement channels
New-OEM units are available through CDW, Anixter, Radwell, Amazon, Netceed, and Server Racks Online; used and secondary units surface on eBay, SPW Industrial, and Compan-IT. Freight is not incidental: one EU listing (Compan-IT) quotes 350 EUR per cabinet, and against the lowest listed used price of $899, a comparable US domestic freight charge would represent 33 to 78 percent of the item's own purchase price. That is consistent with the category-wide pattern of freight, not brand or condition grading, dominating used-rack economics.
Regional notes
EU and UK distribution (KVM Choice, PDU Choice) shows individual base TS IT part numbers actively being retired and redirected to VX IT replacement part numbers; US distributor listings carry no equivalent discontinuation notice for the same TS IT part numbers. The one published EU freight figure, 350 EUR per cabinet from Compan-IT, should not be assumed to equal US domestic freight costs, though it falls within the same order of magnitude as the category's general US LTL range.